Injured and Having Trouble Dealing With the Car Insurance Company?
Kent car accident attorney Zach Herschensohn can take control
After you’ve been injured in a collision, Kent car accident lawyer Zach Herschensohn can deal with the car insurance company so you can focus on what matters most – your recovery. The Herschensohn Law Firm, PLLC has fought for and won millions in settlements and verdicts for injury victims throughout the Seattle metro area and can handle every aspect of your case, including the confusing claims process. Get a knowledgeable and experienced Kent car accident attorney on your side – and get real results. Contact us today for your free consultation.
Just like every other state, Washington requires all drivers to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage to pay for bodily injuries and property damage in the event of a crash. Even though this is a law, many drivers don’t purchase enough insurance. Some don’t even carry any at all. If you get into an accident caused by someone who is uninsured or underinsured, it can be hard to recover all the compensation you’re entitled to without the help of an experienced car accident lawyer.
What are Washington state’s car insurance requirements?
In Washington state, drivers have a few different options for liability coverage, including a certificate of deposit or a liability bond. The most common choice for licensed drivers is to purchase car insurance. In Washington, the law states drivers must have minimum liability coverage that includes:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury or death
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury or death
- $10,000 for property damage
There are other coverages you can choose to purchase, but none of them are mandatory in Washington state. They include underinsured/uninsured motorist (UM), personal injury protection (PIP), collision, comprehensive, rental reimbursement, emergency roadside assistance, and more.
Is Washington a fault or no-fault state?
Washington is a fault state that follows “pure” comparative negligence laws when determining compensation for accident victims. That means if you were involved in a car accident, you can file a claim with the at-fault driver’s insurance company for damages. If you are found to be partially at-fault for the accident, your financial compensation will be reduced by the percentage of fault you’re assigned. For example, say you were involved in a car accident and found to be 25 percent at-fault because you were speeding. You’re awarded $100,000 in compensation, but since you were 25 percent at-fault, your award would be reduced by 25 percent to $75,000.
How much will my car insurance rate go up after an accident?
Some experts say that your insurance rates may increase by more than 50 percent if you cause an accident, and that number could be larger if injuries are involved. That’s why it’s so critical to have an experienced car accident lawyer in your corner to protect your rights. There’s a lot at stake, and if you did nothing to cause your accident, getting blamed for it and being found at fault can have a negative impact on your finances.
What should I expect from insurance after a car accident?
After you’ve been in a car accident, you should notify your insurance company. They may ask you for additional details or a recorded statement – but you should simply decline and redirect them to your attorney.
The other driver’s car insurance company will probably contact you soon after your crash. While the insurance adjuster may seem friendly over the phone, you can pretty much guarantee they’re looking for you to say anything that they can use against you to reduce or deny your compensation, which is why you should decline comment and refer them to your lawyer.
Insurance companies are well-known for offering cash settlements quickly after an accident – especially if they know their driver was at-fault. Remember, you don’t have to accept anything, and you can always ask for more money. The initial settlement offer is often way less than what you’re entitled to, and the last thing you want to do is accept a cash offer and then realize later on it doesn’t come close to covering all your accident-related expenses. Once you accept an offer, that’s usually your only opportunity for compensation.
Let Herschensohn Law Firm, PLLC deal with it all
If you’ve been injured in an accident, trying to handle communications and negotiations with the insurance company can feel overwhelming. You’re injured, out of work, and trying to recover. You don’t’ need to spend all day talking with insurance companies and going back and forth with adjusters.
We can handle every aspect of your case. Kent car accident attorney Zach Herschensohn routinely negotiates with insurance companies for top compensation, and if they choose to play hardball, he’s more than willing to fight for you in court in front of a judge and jury as an accomplished trial lawyer. Don’t forget – we’ll work on your case on a contingency fee basis. That means you don’t pay anything unless we win. It’s that simple. See what Herschensohn Law Firm, PLLC can do for you. Contact us today for your free consultation.